Breakfast Beauty Jar

 “In 2016 it is my mission to improve the condition of my skin, nails, hair and creative brain NATURALLY. I have spent a small fortune on all sorts of lotions and potions and never found that ‘magic tonic’. So I’m putting away my wallet and getting out my mixing bowl. Through exploring my love of healthy dessert making, I will be feeding myself beautiful (hopefully). Follow my diary of tailor made desserts, baked snacks and Breakfast recipes for clear skin, glossy hair and hard ass nails. Starting with…”

THE FACE

The Beauty Jar aka The Smoothie Granola jar

Turning breakfast into a one stop beauty shop!

IMG_6898

I can never choose what I want to eat for breakfast more. If my stomach would allow it I’d start with Homemade Granola, then Scrambled eggs with Smoked Salmon and Avocado on Rye, then a smoothie bowl of frozen fruit and veggies with all the toppings, then I would finish with a stack of buckwheat pancakes with cascading berries and dripping almond butter. For this next post I’ve up 2 of my favourite breakfasts together and used my all time favourite toppings. Fear not, I haven’t chosen to add the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. I have eaten some pretty strange concoctions in my time but…

IMG_6901

Why the glass? I eat with my eyes, I eat with my eyes, I eat with my eyes!! The more beautiful and special it looks the more we want to devour it. If your new years resolution is to eat healthier and that sad bowl of Muesli hasn’t got you salivating then pimp it up in your favourite glass and top it up up up!

IMG_6728

Feed me beautiful facts  – What’s it good for?

Blueberries – Helps to prevent signs of aging. The mass of antioxidants in this mighty fruit kick some serious Free Radical ass (Free radicals are unstable oxygen molecules created in the body from pollution, smoking, fried food). WHAM!

Spinach – Helps you ditch that frown and relax with the right antioxidants and Vitamins to help with anxiety and good sleep, not for getting that all important collagen that keeps the skin looking plump and young. BOSH!

Yogurt – Promotes clear skin by destroying bacteria and germs in the body. POW!

Sunflower seeds – Moisturizes and gives you that glow factor  with rich vitamin E and minerals to help maintain elastin’s in the skin. OOSH!

IMG_6910

Breakfast Beauty Jar

This recipe is for 1 but double it up like I did for 2.

Bottom layer – Thick Smoothie Feed me beautiful facts  

2 handfuls Frozen Blueberries

2 Handfuls of Spinach

6 tbsp Water/Almond milk

IMG_6912

Middle LayerYogurt

Full fat Greek Yogurt or any delicious thick dairy free Yogurt

Middle Layer 2Granola for one or double it and share

4 tbsp Oats

2 tsp of seeds (I went for one Pumpkin and one Sunflower seeds)

1 tsp of Mixed Spice or if you don’t have that try cinnamon ad ginger mixed.

2 tsp of ground nut oil (or coconut)

1 Tbsp of date syrup (I used this as it has a strong flavour and colour but if I didn’t have it in the house I’d go for Maple syrup).

IMG_6911

Topping 1Peanut vanilla Spread

1 tbsp Crunchy Peanut butter

7 Drops of Vanilla essence

1 tsp of your favourite Sweet Syrup I went for something milder than the date syrup Brown rice syrup, Maple or honey.

Tip Top – All the toppings

Raspberries

Shredded coconut

IMG_6897

Method

 Start with the Granola.

Pre heat your oven to 160.c. Fan 140.c

In a roasting tin throw all the ingredients together and combine well with the liquid ( I like to do it with my hands as it’s just divine to eat the mixture off your fingers when finished). It gives me a lovely sense memory of when Mum would make Granola when I was a child and Dad and I would sneak into the kitchen and eat as much as we could while her back was turned before it went into the oven.

Bake in the middle of the oven for 7 minutes

IMG_6908

Smoothie Makin’

In a blender add all the bottom layer smoothie ingredients.

We want it quite thick so the yogurt sits nicely on the smoothie and is easy to eat with a spoon, plus it looks lovely all layered up which is pleasing to mine eye!

Now you are ready to layer up. Using a nice clear jar or favourite glass.

IMG_6900

 

I would love to see your Breakfast beauty Jar creations – tag me or #feedmebeautiful on instagram.

Instagram – @thecakediariesofficial

Twitter – @thecakediaries1

Treat yourself well,

The Cake Diaries

xoxo

IMG_6909

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

