How to make Nut butter

Quick and easy, no fear nut butters.

IMG_4558

I love a good nut butter. They have the power to perk up any meal either sweet or savoury and I will try and add it to anything I can and I do.

Nuts provide us with lots of goodies like protein, healthy fats, fibre, vitamins and minerals and when added to say…breakfast will help you to become a little power house of energy.

Homemade verses shop bought.

I like to get creative with my nut butters with flavours that are not available in the shops but also I like to know what’s in my butters. Along with all the health benefits of nut butters most shop bought butters come with added sugars, salts and hydrogenated oils (which are trans fats and not good for us).

You can make nut butter out of most nuts and seeds.

Peanuts, walnuts, pecan, cashew, almond, pistachio, hazelnut, macadamia, brazil, sunflower seed, sesame seed or pumpkin seed.

IMG_4548

Here are a few of my favourite combinations that I make regularly.

Cashew and Chocolate

Almond and Vanilla

Pecan and Cinnamon

Here are your basics to making nut butter. Then you can add whatever you like to pimp up your butter or keep it plain as nature intended.

Now making butter can be very quick about 35 mins. Or much longer, taking upto a whole day. I will show you both options here –

1a – To soak or not to Soak? I am impatient a lot of the time so don’t soak them and just chuck them in the food processor but when I am forward thinking I will soak the nuts. This will help with a creamy texture and more intense flavour. By soaking the nuts you will wash away any toxins/chemicals which will help you to digest more of the goodness in the nut.

In a bowl cover the nuts in water (filtered where possible).Cashews 2 hours, Almonds 8 hours, Peanut 8 hours, Hazelnut 8 hours and 5 hours for your Pecan nuts. Leave in a cool place.

1b – If you haven’t soaked your nuts you can just chuck them in the blender and get going or you can toast your nuts for a lovely roastie, smokie flavour. Oven at 175.c for around 12 mins and just keep an eye on them as I never trust ovens. They don’t want you to get to know them!! When you finally think you and your oven are getting on and they’ve let you in on their secret they suddenly change the rules!

If you have soaked your nuts. Now it’s time to dry them out and roast them by dehydrating them – Oven, 150.c on an oven tray for 12 hours.

IMG_4556

2- Take your desired nut and put in a blender. Blitz on full speed, 2 mins at a time, stopping to scrap down the sides. Keep going like this until you get a smooth paste. If you like it crunchy like I do add some more nuts nearer to the end of the blitzing so you have some nice chunky pieces giving great bite and texture.

2 – You can now decide on your chosen texture i.e stiff or creamy. For some reason I like my Cashew and cocoa stiff so you have to spade it on the toast and watch it slowly melt into the hot bread.

3 – I like my Almond and Vanilla smooth. So now I would add almond milk a tsp at a time for a smooth creamy texture. For a more velvety and luxurious butter go for a healthy oil like walnut oil or my favourite coconut oil. Add slowly, a bit at a time to get the texture you desire.

3 – Now add your flavour if wanted – i.e salt, Tahini (great with cashews), maple syrup, honey, cinnamon, coconut, mixed spice, vanilla essence or chia spice  etc…

Cashew and Cocoa – Add 1 heaped tablespoon of Coco/Raw cocoa and 2 heaped tsp of natural honey. Now give it a quick whizz.

Almond and Vanilla – Add 2 tsp of good quality Vanilla extract. Now give it a quick whizz.

Pecan and Cinnamon – I love cinnamon so it’s likely I will always add more. Add 1 level tbsp of cinnamon and 2 tsp of maple syrup. Now give it a quick whizz.

With all these added extras its personal taste if you would like to add more of each to the recipe.IMG_4544

Enjoy and go wild with your nut butter. Spread it on celery, apples, hot toast, oat cakes, rice cakes, with banana sandwiches on porridge, drag it through yogurt, add it to stir fry’s, dollop on ice cream and eat it with a spoon!

This morning in celebration of Easter and Good Friday I’m enjoying my Almond and Vanilla with a toasted chocolate chip Hot cross bun!

IMG_4558

Happy Bank holiday Weekend everyone.

Treat yourself well.

Yours Truly,

The Cake Diaries xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “How to make Nut butter

Leave a Reply

