Good morning Sunshine bars – Vegan, Wheat-free, sugar-free, butter-free and delicious (promise)!!

IMG_3411

Good Morning Sunshine

Breakfast on a week day and brunch at the weekend are my favorite meals of the day! There is no end to the amount of different baked goods that can be consumed in the morning. But I am tiring of my usual breakfast fair and am on the hunt to find something a little more exciting but healthy to start the day with. Breakfast, being the most important meal of the day kicks starts the old metabolism first thing making us more alert and focused in our work. But we don’t always have time to prepare a nutrient filled and energizing boosting breakfast in the morning. On Sunday night I was contemplating my busy week ahead and the fact that I had not been to the supermarket due to my whirlwind weekend and the shops were shut! So was born the Good morning Sunshine breakfast bar, you think that’s a mouthful? I was going to call it the Totally Vegan, wheat-free, sugar-free butter-free, energy boosting, vitality making, skin plumbing, faster running, sunshine inducing mega bar’ but was told by a friend that it wasn’t memorable. So, Good morning sunshine is the best and most compact way of describing my mega bar of perfection!  It’s a bar naturally packed full of nutrients, antioxidants, protein and fibre. It’s sweet, chewy and tastes delicious.

I have had such a big response to this recipe over the last month and asking how their made. So here it is kids!! So easy and versatile as the ingredients are easily changeable as long as you have enough of the base ingredients that keep the whole thing together, in this case banana and avocado.

Rummaging through by cupboards I found –

1 over ripe Banana

Half an avocado

Oats

Cinnamon,

Dates

Pumpkins seeds

Sunflower seeds

Flaked almonds

Vanilla essence

Pinch Salt

Linwoods Flax seed Health mix (Optional)

Method

Pre heat Oven to 170c. Bake time 25 mins.

This recipe should make around 10 squares or 5 large rectangles.

Mash one Banana (the riper the banana the sweeter the bar and the stronger the flavour) with half a small avocado.

Add 7 tbsp. of oats (rough milled porridge oats are fine)

Meanwhile in a pan lightly soften about 10 or so dates until falling apart and keep the heat low so not to catch and burn.

Add the softened dates to the banana/Avo mixture.

Now add a pinch of salt and 1 tsp Vanilla essence and as much cinnamon as your hearts desire.

Stir in 1 tbsp of Flaked almonds, 1 tbsp Sunflower seeds,  1 tbsp Pumpkin seeds and a handful of chopped dates in to the mixture.

I also added 1 tbsp of Linwoods Health food Flaxseed and omega 3 mix for extra healthy goodness (optional).

The mixture should be spreadable but not too wet so feel free to add more seeds, nuts or oats until the mixture feels right.

Lightly butter a rectangular Pyrex dish or line a baking tray.

Spread the mixture out with a large palette knife to about 1.5 -2cm thickness.

Place in the middle of the oven and bake for 25 mins. The bar should be golden brown.

BIG TIP – The older the Banana the better! For a treat add 75% dark chocolate chips to the mixture (you won’t regret it!)

These are chewy and so full of goodness as well as being perfect with a cup of tea. I was up and out the door in 30 minutes, world record for me. I felt full up from 8am right through to 2pm and dare I say it I reckon there was a little spring in my step Monday morning!

IMG_3417

Good Morning Sunshine